Jump to content


Photo

Can I Use A Smc Reader/writer To Format A Smc Card


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 matt goode

matt goode

    GP Mania

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • Location:U.K

Posted 09 December 2004 - 08:54 PM

hi do u rekon that i could us emy smc card reader/ writer (cumin wiv my gp32) to format my memory card? i have a mac so i really need this to work!!!!!

#2 Dozer

Dozer

    Efram the retarded rabbit

  • GP Guru
  • 3034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Exeter
  • Interests:Making and listening to music.

Posted 09 December 2004 - 09:14 PM

In my experience, the card doesn't like to work on my gp32 once formatted on the pc. There is mac software available though. Search around. Or borrow a pc to format, once it's formatted you should be able to use the card reader for anything else after that.

#3 Morwynd

Morwynd

    GP32 Hardcore

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:Calgary, AB

Posted 10 December 2004 - 12:07 AM

I have 3 SMCs. The first I formatted with PC-Link, the second two with my PC via a card reader (Lexar 6-in-1), all of them work just fine for me.

In fact, I haven't had my GP32 connected to my PC since I first got it, I use the card reader for everything.

Just make sure you format it for FAT16. FAT32/NTFS (which are the default filesystems in modern versions of Windows) will definitely NOT work.

#4 Quiest

Quiest

    I like turtles!

  • GP Guru
  • 3062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dteuschland ;)
  • Interests:Bla. Blabla. Blablabla. Blablablabla. Do you really have to read every crap?

Posted 10 December 2004 - 08:46 AM

I have 3 SMCs.  The first I formatted with PC-Link, the second two with my PC via a card reader (Lexar 6-in-1), all of them work just fine for me.

In fact, I haven't had my GP32 connected to my PC since I first got it, I use the card reader for everything.

Just make sure you format it for FAT16.  FAT32/NTFS (which are the default filesystems in modern versions of Windows) will definitely NOT work.

View Post


Fat 16 works???
As read over dozens of threads and experienced myself, it doesn`t.
You only can format it using your gp32 (through pacrom,, for example and many other fw`s)
The gp32 is using a special fat format, can`t remeber the number. Search the board, you will find many many threads about this topic.

#5 pea

pea

    developer

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1084 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand
  • Interests:Programming, Flash, Gaming

Posted 10 December 2004 - 10:22 AM

I've read many posts that say it is fat16. I also recall one thread that said it was fat12, but I thought this was just a spelling mistake.

#6 ratx

ratx

    GP32 Hardcore

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts

Posted 10 December 2004 - 12:37 PM

Nope fat12 is a real "thing" see

http://msdn.microsof...6_and_fat12.asp

for the differences between 16 and 12. I too have tried and failed to get a working formated ( fat16 ) SMC via card reader, didn't try that hard though, I'm sure it _could_ be possible.

#7 bast525

bast525

    Mega GP Mania

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1653 posts

Posted 10 December 2004 - 02:21 PM

So it needs FAT 12 for sure?

When you say format the card with the GP32, do I do this with software (I saw mention of Pacrom) or do I hook the GP up with the PClink and run some software on the PC, using the GP as the writer, to format it?

#8 Morwynd

Morwynd

    GP32 Hardcore

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Location:Calgary, AB

Posted 10 December 2004 - 11:23 PM

I've always read that it handles both FAT12 and FAT16. Eg: http://www.devrs.com...s.php#SMCFormat

The gp32 supports both FAT12 & FAT16 file formats.


However, now that I think about it, I believe you're right... I didn't use the card reader to format it, I used PacROM from the MultiFirmware. I just knew it wasn't with PC-Link... I hate hooking that cable up. ;)

According to DarkFader from http://darkfader.net/gp32/

When you format with Windows using an SMC to PC card adapter, it could end up partitionless and a strange formatting so devices like GP32 will not be able to read any of it."

(Emphasis mine) Not sure what he means by "could", but seems much better to use PC-Link or format it with a firmware function such as provided by PacROM or Slubman's.

#9 bast525

bast525

    Mega GP Mania

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1653 posts

Posted 11 December 2004 - 03:40 AM

Unless you got a bad unit and can't use new firmware :(


I hope the BLU I just ordered is not one of these :(

#10 Guest_TelcoLou_*

Guest_TelcoLou_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 December 2004 - 04:30 AM

hi do u rekon that i could us emy smc card reader/ writer (cumin wiv my gp32) to format my memory card? i have a mac so i really need this to work!!!!!

View Post


Good grief! Could you at least try to type correctly??

Anyway, I'm surprised no one has suggested that you simply create the 6 folders you need directly, no need to format:

GPMM
MP3
GPSYS
GPETC
GAME
MOVIE

#11 generalnmx

generalnmx

    Playful/Fascist Mod

  • X-treme Team
  • 2128 posts
  • Location:Maryland, USA
  • Interests:Writing, Game Design, Programming

Posted 11 December 2004 - 04:36 AM

Just format using the card reader and create the directories as shown above. If that doesn't work, then use the "SMC Recovery" option - all known firmwares have this (or have another firmware embedded which have this). This has always worked in the past for me after formatting via a card reader.