Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Openjazz Update


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#31 Pickle

Pickle

    Mega GP Mania

  • X-treme Team
  • 4074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan

Posted 13 March 2010 - 03:22 AM


Ive got some updates from working on the wiz and gp2x you might want to use, like the resolution being selectable from within the gui 320x200 or 320x240.


Upscaling renderers will probably slow things down a bit - the poor old GP32 alrady has to do a transposed blit every frame.
It's a pity that SDL doesn't have native rotation options to handle portrait screens.


Well it just enables the option to use it. Heres my patch:
http://sourceforge.n...45&atid=1167837

Edit: thanks for the modplug changes, those do help.

Edited by Pickle, 13 March 2010 - 03:22 AM.


#32 Esn

Esn

    (:\

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2760 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
  • Interests:Art, Classical Music, Biology, Fantasy/Sci-Fi (books, art, movies, games), Crosscountry skiing, adventuring to foreign parts, and of course, handheld gaming machines. ;)

Posted 13 March 2010 - 03:58 AM

I wouldn't use it, personally. The native game resolution is already very close to the GP32's maximum. Nothing wrong with black bars...

#33 Pickle

Pickle

    Mega GP Mania

  • X-treme Team
  • 4074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan

Posted 13 March 2010 - 05:50 PM

I wouldn't use it, personally. The native game resolution is already very close to the GP32's maximum. Nothing wrong with black bars...


Just as a side note openjazz doesnt scale it just shows more of the game level, and the resolution change allows either mode, nothing is forced

#34 Esn

Esn

    (:\

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2760 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
  • Interests:Art, Classical Music, Biology, Fantasy/Sci-Fi (books, art, movies, games), Crosscountry skiing, adventuring to foreign parts, and of course, handheld gaming machines. ;)

Posted 13 March 2010 - 08:21 PM


I wouldn't use it, personally. The native game resolution is already very close to the GP32's maximum. Nothing wrong with black bars...


Just as a side note openjazz doesnt scale it just shows more of the game level, and the resolution change allows either mode, nothing is forced

Oh. Thanks for explaining. Rather neat, in that case... :P

#35 slaanesh

slaanesh

    Mega GP Mania

  • GP Guru
  • 1916 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Interests:GP32, GP2X, Zodiac, PSP, Dingoo, Pandora.

Posted 14 March 2010 - 06:03 AM

That sounds very nice. In that case I'll add it in I think.

Lets do it...

DONE. Nice! Thanks Pickle. I assumed it was a scaler.

I get 35FPS at 130Mhz, sound now running at 22050hz. Okay releasing tomorrow morning Australia time.

Edited by slaanesh, 14 March 2010 - 10:42 AM.


#36 Pickle

Pickle

    Mega GP Mania

  • X-treme Team
  • 4074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan

Posted 14 March 2010 - 10:32 PM

That sounds very nice. In that case I'll add it in I think.

Lets do it...

DONE. Nice! Thanks Pickle. I assumed it was a scaler.

I get 35FPS at 130Mhz, sound now running at 22050hz. Okay releasing tomorrow morning Australia time.


Did you do anything to black out the 40 lines in 320x200 mode?

#37 slaanesh

slaanesh

    Mega GP Mania

  • GP Guru
  • 1916 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Interests:GP32, GP2X, Zodiac, PSP, Dingoo, Pandora.

Posted 14 March 2010 - 10:54 PM

Did you do anything to black out the 40 lines in 320x200 mode?


Yes I did.
The way SDL video works on the GP32, there's always a 320x240 buffer allocated.
The actual display is just centered if it's not the full size. As a work around, I always just clear the entire screen (using fast assembler memset).

In src/io/gfx/video.cpp:


void clearScreen (int index) {

#ifdef GP32
        // always 240 lines cleared
        memset(screen->pixels, index, 320*240);
#else
        SDL_FillRect(screen, NULL, index);
#endif

        return;

}

@ Pickle.
By the way, whilst I've got your attention - what changes did you make to DosBOX to make it work with GP2X? I remember reading that it required a fair reduction of memory requirements. I've been trying to port DosBOX to A320 but I'm not having much luck with it starting up. It's killed straight away, which to me seems like it's trying to alloc too much memory.
I've reduced the amount of emulated PC RAM from 16MB -> 4MB. Is there anything else that can be done?

@ Pickle.
Actually I found it now. Comment out
#define USE_FULL_TLB from paging.h
:-)

Edited by slaanesh, 15 March 2010 - 04:04 AM.


#38 Pickle

Pickle

    Mega GP Mania

  • X-treme Team
  • 4074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan

Posted 15 March 2010 - 01:25 PM

Thanks ill give that memset a try, thats only issue i have with the gp2x/wiz versions is the 40 lines being something other than black

@ Pickle.
Actually I found it now. Comment out

#define USE_FULL_TLB from paging.h
:-)


Yeah that TLB is the big one. There a porting file that has some short notes on the memory savers.
The Gp2X source is in the archives if you wanted to start from there, it also includes the virtual keyboard gui i made up for it.

Edit: that memset worked :-)

Edited by Pickle, 15 March 2010 - 10:03 PM.


#39 slaanesh

slaanesh

    Mega GP Mania

  • GP Guru
  • 1916 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Interests:GP32, GP2X, Zodiac, PSP, Dingoo, Pandora.

Posted 16 March 2010 - 04:14 AM

Yeah that TLB is the big one. There a porting file that has some short notes on the memory savers.
The Gp2X source is in the archives if you wanted to start from there, it also includes the virtual keyboard gui i made up for it.


Yes that docs/PORTING was excellent. I have a working DOSBox 0.73 for A320 Dingoo now.

Also I just make a few more tweaks to OpenJazz for GP32 - so should release tomorrow. Sorry about the little delay.

Edited by slaanesh, 16 March 2010 - 04:46 AM.


#40 Esn

Esn

    (:\

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2760 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
  • Interests:Art, Classical Music, Biology, Fantasy/Sci-Fi (books, art, movies, games), Crosscountry skiing, adventuring to foreign parts, and of course, handheld gaming machines. ;)

Posted 18 March 2010 - 06:23 PM

Weird... I had a dream that you ported OpenJazz to GP32 and made an option to change all the graphics to Commander Keen ones, with Jazz himself becoming a Yorp. And I was playing it thinking it looked pretty neat.

I think I'm anticipating your release a little too much. :P

#41 Pickle

Pickle

    Mega GP Mania

  • X-treme Team
  • 4074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan

Posted 18 March 2010 - 06:49 PM

Weird... I had a dream that you ported OpenJazz to GP32 and made an option to change all the graphics to Commander Keen ones, with Jazz himself becoming a Yorp. And I was playing it thinking it looked pretty neat.

I think I'm anticipating your release a little too much. :P


Maybe slannesh will be interested in porting clonkeenplus (much improved fork over clonekeen) http://clonekeenplus.sourceforge.net/
Ive also been meaning to release my wiz version, since this version is much improved (meaning fullspeed 60 fps vs 20 fps)

#42 jmetal88

jmetal88

    Erm.... Woohoo!

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pittsburg, KS
  • Interests:GP32, Computers, Classic Mini

Posted 19 March 2010 - 06:08 PM

Weird... I had a dream that you ported OpenJazz to GP32 and made an option to change all the graphics to Commander Keen ones, with Jazz himself becoming a Yorp. And I was playing it thinking it looked pretty neat.

I think I'm anticipating your release a little too much. :P


It just showed up in the download section today. Have at it!

#43 Esn

Esn

    (:\

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2760 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
  • Interests:Art, Classical Music, Biology, Fantasy/Sci-Fi (books, art, movies, games), Crosscountry skiing, adventuring to foreign parts, and of course, handheld gaming machines. ;)

Posted 19 March 2010 - 06:56 PM

Oh, neat. I'll try it later today...

#44 Esn

Esn

    (:\

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2760 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
  • Interests:Art, Classical Music, Biology, Fantasy/Sci-Fi (books, art, movies, games), Crosscountry skiing, adventuring to foreign parts, and of course, handheld gaming machines. ;)

Posted 19 March 2010 - 11:41 PM

Okay, I tried it out today. Thank you for your work, slaanesh. The game's actually playable now.

I can't figure out how to load the full CD version. What files do I need to put into the openjazz folder? Also, does it support Jazz Christmas 94 and 95?

a few bugs that I noticed:

crackly music (in last 2 worlds & title screen)

in Tubelectric, the lasers seems to fire a little left of where they should

Jazz can get stuck in place while running up diagonal surfaces (or very small steps) - also, the screen stutters whenever jazz runs up a diagonal (as if the frame rate was very low, even though it says that it's 35)

In Medivo, the flying board is invisible.

There are big balls on chains in Medivo - those chains are invisible

There's one place in Medivo where the board is supposed to fall away, it's possible to fly past that point without losing it.

While Jazz is on the flying board, the shots from his blaster can sometimes come not from his midsection but from higher or lower

The first guardian seems to just stay in place (not sure if it's a bug or not)

Edited by Esn, 19 March 2010 - 11:45 PM.


#45 jmetal88

jmetal88

    Erm.... Woohoo!

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pittsburg, KS
  • Interests:GP32, Computers, Classic Mini

Posted 19 March 2010 - 11:49 PM

Okay, I tried it out today. Thank you for your work, slaanesh. The game's actually playable now.

I can't figure out how to load the full CD version. What files do I need to put into the openjazz folder? Also, does it support Jazz Christmas 94 and 95?

a few bugs that I noticed:

crackly music (in last 2 worlds & title screen)

in Tubelectric, the lasers seems to fire a little left of where they should

Jazz can get stuck in place while running up diagonal surfaces (or very small steps) - also, the screen stutters whenever jazz runs up a diagonal (as if the frame rate was very low, even though it says that it's 35)

In Medivo, the flying board is invisible.

There are big balls on chains in Medivo - those chains are invisible

There's one place in Medivo where the board is supposed to fall away, it's possible to fly past that point without losing it.

While Jazz is on the flying board, the shots from his blaster can sometimes come not from his midsection but from higher or lower

The first guardian seems to just stay in place (not sure if it's a bug or not)


Aside from the crackly music, those are all bugs Alister needs to work out, so you'd probably do better mentioning them on his site rather than here.

Also, I thought there was a point on Medivo where the board was supposed to fall away as well, but when I played my CD version in DOSBox a couple of days ago, Jazz stayed on it for some reason, so either we're both remembering incorrectly, or there was an intermittent bug there in the original game that DOSBox brings out over real DOS.

Edited by jmetal88, 19 March 2010 - 11:50 PM.