Jump to content


Photo

Gish


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 Pickle

Pickle

    Mega GP Mania

  • X-treme Team
  • 4074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan

Posted 01 January 2011 - 07:20 AM

Got it to run and stable. A little slow but playable. Turn off music for more speed or up the clock cycle.
Put all the data files into the appdata folder gish.
This is a beta and some settings may need to be tweaked in the home dir .gish, some can be changed in game but resolution in game may not work.
There are some opengl texture issues I will try to fix later.

pickle.gp2x.de/gish.pnd
pickle.gp2x.de/gish_src.zip

#2 PokeParadox

PokeParadox

    Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3908 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Homebrew and Emulation!

Posted 01 January 2011 - 02:41 PM

Rocking! Can't wait to play! :)
EDIT: well it seems we don't have the openAL lib on the Pandora...
"Error whilel oading shared libraries: libopenal.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"

Edited by PokeParadox, 01 January 2011 - 03:13 PM.


#3 Dead1nside

Dead1nside

    Mega GP Mania

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 01 January 2011 - 03:55 PM

Pickle, that's awesome. I was hoping the open sourcing would come to something. Thanks.

#4 Pickle

Pickle

    Mega GP Mania

  • X-treme Team
  • 4074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan

Posted 01 January 2011 - 05:26 PM

Rocking! Can't wait to play! :)
EDIT: well it seems we don't have the openAL lib on the Pandora...
"Error whilel oading shared libraries: libopenal.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"


updated pnd to have the openal lib and now the settings are all set by default (.gish will now be in the appdata folder and not the home dir)

#5 Farox

Farox

    GP Mania

  • GP Guru
  • 498 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Interests:Pandora
    GP2X
    Caanoo

Posted 01 January 2011 - 05:34 PM

Thank's Pickle, I can't wait to try it :)

#6 crow_riot

crow_riot

    Mega GP Mania

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:.at
  • Interests:music & programming

Posted 01 January 2011 - 05:34 PM

would you mind sharing source? i've wanted to port it, but never found the time... thx

#7 PokeParadox

PokeParadox

    Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3908 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Homebrew and Emulation!

Posted 01 January 2011 - 06:38 PM

would you mind sharing source? i've wanted to port it, but never found the time... thx

Technically he's obliged to, by the GPL :)
And let's see with the updated PND... (also surprised that the Pand doesn't have OpenAL installed as standard...)
EDIT: Working fine, looks great apart from the green areas. Default controls work well... although you may want to map Start to bring up the pause menu :)

Also I managed to get the cursor offest from where I was clicking on the touchscreen...
Additionally anyone else wanting to try this that doesn't actually have Gish... I do believe a FreeGish project was started, so you can try and search and find those freeware data files.

Edited by PokeParadox, 01 January 2011 - 06:55 PM.


#8 Pickle

Pickle

    Mega GP Mania

  • X-treme Team
  • 4074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan

Posted 01 January 2011 - 07:04 PM

would you mind sharing source? i've wanted to port it, but never found the time... thx


link added at the top

#9 crow_riot

crow_riot

    Mega GP Mania

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:.at
  • Interests:music & programming

Posted 01 January 2011 - 07:06 PM


would you mind sharing source? i've wanted to port it, but never found the time... thx


link added at the top


thanks

#10 foxblock

foxblock

    Community guy

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 02 January 2011 - 09:55 AM

Wow, this sounds great, thanks a lot Pickle!
Would somebody mind recording a video of him playing for us non-Pandora people :-3
Thanks in advance!

foxblock out

#11 Unfathomable Depths

Unfathomable Depths

    sláinte

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 02 January 2011 - 10:51 AM

Thanks for this Pickle :)

Had a quick go and it seems to work fine @ 600mhz. Small graphic issue where it looks like it's missing a tile which is then replaced by a green rectangle. Probably me not copying across the data files properly or a corrupted file.

Great work :D

*edit* ahh, just re-read the first post and you know about this already.

Edited by Unfathomable Depths, 02 January 2011 - 10:52 AM.


#12 crow_riot

crow_riot

    Mega GP Mania

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:.at
  • Interests:music & programming

Posted 03 January 2011 - 10:06 AM

i think i'm trying a wiz port, it shouldn't be that difficult. i'll remove the openal and replace it with sdl_mixer, which should give quite a speed-up for the pandora, too.

*edit*
uh just saw that they're actually using some more features than just playing, but ... well. i'll see ;)

Edited by crow_riot, 03 January 2011 - 10:49 AM.


#13 Pickle

Pickle

    Mega GP Mania

  • X-treme Team
  • 4074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan

Posted 03 January 2011 - 02:57 PM

i think i'm trying a wiz port, it shouldn't be that difficult. i'll remove the openal and replace it with sdl_mixer, which should give quite a speed-up for the pandora, too.

*edit*
uh just saw that they're actually using some more features than just playing, but ... well. i'll see ;)


yeah i think this would crawl on the wiz, dont forget im also compiling with neon which does help. Also it looks like 640x480 is the min resolution, not sure how much of a pain 320x240 would be.

Ive been looking a but at the green bar, what supposed to happen is a background image is supposed to show up in this area. Whats kind of odd is that its drawn with the level stuff and I think its expected the opengl blend is supposed to take care which layer shows up where.
RIght now the pandora version is using nanogl, maybe a direct conversion to opengles would fix it, but that change would take a while.

#14 torpor

torpor

    hack hack hack, the little machines fight back

  • GP32 Hardcore
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2377 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:vienna, austria

Posted 03 January 2011 - 03:13 PM

I took a look at the sources, and I don't see where you're setting up the compiler for optimization, Pickle .. are you building using Makefile.linux, or cmake, or .. ?

EDIT: Never mind, its codeblocks, right ..

Edited by torpor, 03 January 2011 - 03:14 PM.


#15 Pickle

Pickle

    Mega GP Mania

  • X-treme Team
  • 4074 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Detroit, Michigan

Posted 03 January 2011 - 03:19 PM

I took a look at the sources, and I don't see where you're setting up the compiler for optimization, Pickle .. are you building using Makefile.linux, or cmake, or .. ?

EDIT: Never mind, its codeblocks, right ..


cb yep :-)